Food Brands to help epileptic shih tzu cross pug

Hi i am new to all about dog food but was wondering if you could offer any advice.
My dog has seizures and this year he has more than he ever has he currently on arden grange chicken and rice with wainwrights meat trays.
Ive read alot and it looks like a grain free diet with taurine and omega 3 and 6 is helpful and to avoid rosemary.
There is that many dog foods that i really dont know which to try him with hes a shih tzu cross pug very lazy also overheats easily so really want to help him. Trying to avoid medications and try changing his diet incase he has intolerances.
I would appreciate any advice.

Hello Vanessa - welcome to the forum. I have never had an epileptic dog so I don’t have any personal experience. I have previously read up about taurine but in relation to heart disease - cannot remember reading about epilepsy. As you doubtless know, taurine is an amino acid and Dogs Naturally has this to say about it:
“One of the effects of Taurine in the body is as a controller of nervous impulses, and supplementing your dog’s diet to give him higher levels can raise the threshold at which fits are triggered.”

According to Canine Epilepsy Guardian Angels website it is considered to be a safe supplement, the dose being 200 to 1,000 mg. per day.

You asked about food containing taurine and I remember that it is mainly found in meat proteins so it might be worth considering something with a higher meat content. Arden Grange Adult has 27.2%. However, the Wainwright’s will boost that somewhat, dependent on how much you are giving.