Advice appreciated on food issues

Hi, i am a newbie to this forum and a first time dog owner of 6 months. I have had endless problems with food since adopting my lab/cocker spaniel cross, Buddy. I tried several highly rated dry foods (eg Orijen puppy, burns plus a couple of others) and buddy had huge amounts of diarrhoea (8-10 times per day). I don’t know what caused it but the problem was resolved when I switched to natural instinct raw food. Buddy loved it and the diarrhoea stopped. Now he has gone off it completely and spits it out. I tried playing hard ball and letting him go hungry but he was surprisingly more stubborn than me and I hated to force him to eat something he hates. I’ve tried to work out what the problem could be. He’s fine on pure meat (chicken pieces, mince), it seems to be the non meat additions or combinations that disagree with him. It’s such a pain.
I would be hugely grateful for advice. Does anyone know why dry food might be such a problem for buddy? As the natural instinct was good for buddy should I force him to get used to it again?

1 Like

Hello & welcome to the forums.

The first benchmark has to be a healthy dog. You need to be as satisfied as you can be that the dog is relatibelt healthy & absent of medical issues that may impact on appetite, impact on waste output, & free of worm issues etc. Dog must not be constipated, should be free from any internal obstructions…young dogs and old can eat all sorts of items & rubbish…sometimes causing blockages & appetite . I am assuming food was provided and removed if not eaten at once. Encouraging grazing can arguably cauze selective eating &/or remove food drive. Dog should also be drinking well, (some including myself mainly provide filtered water). I would regard a total lack of eating/drinking for any significant period as needing vet visit… urgently if dog is lethargic or presenting with other signs of concern !