New to raw feeding

Hi guys - am due to pick my working cocker spaniel pup up in September (he will be 12 weeks) and the breeder feeds all her dogs raw and is weaning the pups this way. She tells me her dogs eat raw turkey necks and just wanted some advice about this type of feeding? Previously, I had an English springer who lived 14 years and all I gave him was whatever dried dog food was on offer (yes, I know how bad that sounds!) so I have no knowledge of how to source a raw diet, or how much and how often to give? I have looked at sites that say give organs/offal as well but again, not sure of if I just need to approach my local butcher or what?

Would be very grateful for any advice :slight_smile:

Cat

Hi Catflk and welcome to the forum. I am a raw feeder and have been for many years. I would guess your breeder should give you a menu of exactly what she is feeding your pup and at what times. At twelve weeks I think four times a day would be a good plan for a few weeks.
I find that feeding complete meals are the easiest especially someone new to raw feeding. There are several good companies on the market and they should give you a lot of help too. To name a few and ones I have used regularly are Wolftucker, Natural Instinct , Nutriment. There are also a few books on the market with lots of good advice too.
I am sure someone else will be along later to help.

3 Likes

Hi Cat
I also raw feed, but do give raw bones or necks to my dog, only as I do not want raw food being dragged around my house. I give a complete raw dog food to my dog some has vegetables in the other not, only because he does not do too well on vegetables and as he is thin he needs more meat to help him put on weight.
As you are new to raw feeding it would be good to get some advice from a company that sells raw, I use Luna and me , and now use as well naturaw which are both on this site, and sell food suitable for puppies.
I hope that you can sort the food out for your new puppy. :slight_smile: