QUANDARY..... Hmm...Puppy or Adult

What do you think…

Here is the setting:
An elderly-ish teenage cat who is used to always living with a dog in her home (throughout her life) has sadly lost her canine friend last year :frowning: and she has not been the same since :frowning:

The quandary is whether to welcome a puppy or an adult dog into the home to live with the cat.

Where better than to ask than from the helpful folks at the forum! Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

I have no experience of cat/dog ownership so can only offer a loose opinion. I imagine that it might not be easy to source an older dog that is known to be ok with cats. From speaking to friends, some cats are alright with their companion dog but not all dogs, and vice versa. If true, a new pairing might be difficult. Possibly a puppy would be ok because it would grow up with familiarity and respect for the cat. All that being said, IMHO, the main thing is that the cat owner wants a dog them self rather than having one for the sake of the cat because they are going to have the expense and the work.

Edit: just seen this in the news which might be helpful - Here are the 10 breeds of adorable dog that get on best with cats - including the feline friendly Pug.

1 Like

Thanks Dottie, your sound advice as always is welcome, and useful.

Hi Meg! Very exciting that you’re considering getting a new dog or puppy! In general puppies are much easier to acclimatise to novel environmental conditions than older dogs. Most eight week old puppies, for example, would take no time at all to get used to sharing their home with a cat while a rehomed or rescued older dog may take much longer, especially if they have have not lived with cats previously. What do you think you’ll do?

1 Like

Thanks David.