How to care for your dog with Kidney failure

Hi everyone,
I am new to this but I have been reading through various topic posts and thought I would start a new one.
My 11 year old jack Russell has just been diagnosed with stage 3 kidney failure.
I am so confused about how to care for him and really worried about doing the wrong thing.
Can anybody who has been in this situation help me ?

He has only just started on the hills prescription k/d tinned wet food which he seems to like ( so far ) .
He is on Pronefra 10mls twice a day and also on Benefortin half a tablet twice daily.

I have been researching and trying to become knowledgeable on this condition but there are so many different views out there that I am left confused.
I really want to care for my boy the best way I possibly can.
Thank you
Gemma.

Hello and welcome to the forum. We recently had a member posting about this issue and the thread can be found here. Unfortunately Karen has not updated her thread so we don’t know how her dog is getting on.

As a result of that enquiry David wrote the article Feeding Dogs with Kidney Failure. Hopefully you will find some useful information in these links but please ask if you have any further queries. We are always glad to have updates on progress.

1 Like

Hi, Thank you for replying.
I have already read most of the threads about kidney disease and I already read that article too.
Thought some extra help or advice could have been given as I am still confused as to what I should be feeding my dog.
I am unsure on foods that are safe for him to have.
He only has 20% of his kidney working and we need to preserve this best we can, I don’t want to risk that dropping by me giving him the wrong foods. :frowning: