Hyperactive Dog

I’m wondering if anyone has any advice regarding feeding a very very hyper collie. My mum has had collies her whole life, the are all working dogs, but her latest dog is very hyper. And he is so slim, it is very hard to help him put meat on his bones.

Does anyone have any recommended feeding for calming?

Hello and welcome to the forum. I have no experience of Border Collies but as you say, they are dogs that need some work to do. Did your mum work the others, and if so is she working this one? If not, perhaps she could look into pursuing some sort of activity with him. As for diet, it used to be thought that high protein equals hyperactivity but this has mostly been dispelled now. In fact many dogs are calmer on a high protein and high fat diet. You didn’t mention what you are feeding but it would seem that he might benefit from such a product - something like Millie’s Wolfheart, Eden, Orijen and the like. The Dog Food Directory is a good start to sourcing these. It might be a good thing to go grain free. The only other thing I can think of is to look for a food with chamomile in it as this is supposed to be calming. There are quite a few companies that add this to their products. You can also purchase treats containing it from Feelwell’s and such like. TinyPlanets has a recipe for chamomile biscuits and she may come along with it later.

What is he being fed on now? The additives in some foods cause hyperactivity, as can high carbohydrate. We get many reports that dogs are much calmer on a higher protein diet like Eden, though there is occasionally a period of detox and there can be a brief spike in activity after about 4 weeks that passes after a couple of days.

Hope that helps

Yes, despite being warned that a high protein diet might cause my dog to be hyperactive, it has been fine. She is on mostly frozen raw like nutriment and natures menu. She also has some ‘gentle’ cold pressed.